A Little Fitness Inspiration for the New Year

Happy New Year, everyone!

I hope you enjoyed the season, got to spend quality time with those who matter most, had a little downtime to reconnect with yourself, and now feel rejuvenated and ready to face 2011.

Many of us make resolutions to lose weight in the new year and have no idea where to begin, so I thought I’d  share my workout habits, though I’m no expert, and pose the following short interview to a few of my friends. I’ll go first, introduce the first young lady, my high school friend Anamai, then go on posting a new response each day that follows.

I chose these ladies for their varied approaches to fitness and the fact that their fabulous bodies help keep me inspired and motivated. I hope their unique approaches will inspire you to develop an approach that works best for you. No two people are the same, no two bodies are the same, and no one knows you better than yourself, so trust your instincts, listen to your body and have fun!

Me!

My Name: Natalie

Where I live: Los-Angeles, California

Favorite Excuse: “Too much reading/writing to do.”

My Inspiration: Friends, Beautiful weather, Desire for a feeling of general wellness when things get too stressful, Music.

My workout habits: I visited my neighborhood Y.M.C.A this summer, played volleyball two or three times a week with a bunch of friends I met in the park, tried my arm at tennis, but all this got to be more and more infrequent as the semester wore on. Very very infrequently I go hiking at Runyun Canyon; it’s not often that I feel compelled to brave the freeway, though it might be well worth the drive. I get a pretty cool view of the city and the Hollywood sign, plus I might run into a celebrity (I once saw “William” from Girlfriends and I hear that J-Lo hikes there).

These days I’m mostly indoors, so I get up and dance for as long as I like whenever I feel the need to let the music move me. Sometime, when it’s nice out (that’s often enough), I ride my bike in whatever direction the wind blows. I also like doing You Tube yoga classes in my living room whenever I need to get centered.

My personal strategy: I’m a very spontaneous person so I rely on my feelings to decide what I want to do. I find that I can’t really stick to a schedule, so I pay close attention to how I’m feeling on every level. I’ve learned that neglecting one aspect of my being affects every aspect; if I’m not physically active I pay for it mentally and spiritually and vice-versa for each. Kundalini yoga and meditation take care of the physical and spiritual, while school, reading and writing, all challenge my mind.

Now to introduce the first of my friends:

 

 

My name: Anamai

Where I live: Miami, Florida

Favorite excuse: “I’m too busy, I need to ease myself back into it”

My Inspiration: My friends who are dedicated athletes, Shaun T and his Insanity program, Never having to count calories or diet.

My workout habits: I used to keep my weight down by smoking. YES! TERRIBLE, I KNOW. Smoking was an on-again, off-again habit for me for a couple of years. I also used to count calories, submerge myself in my work and practice strict diet regimens. This worked for a while, but I started noticing that my arms were losing definition, my hips were widening and my core was becoming engorged. I also often experienced back pain, which led to me having to stretch every few minutes in an effort to alleviate the pain.

All that changed once I was introduced to Shaun T’s Insanity program. The first day I tried it, I was wheezing, gasping for air, pausing the video and lying on my back while my heart pounded away in my ears. Shaun kept encouraging me (the audience) to pace myself and to take breaks if necessary. At the end of the Fit Test I was only able to do one-sixth of what Shaun and his trainers were doing (if that). I checked off my first day on the calendar and kept going.  There were a few days I took off, but I just kept at it.

By the third week, I felt like a completely different person! I was keeping up with the guys on the DVD and sometimes even outperforming them! I was getting amazingly toned, fit and CONFIDENT! My hair, skin and nails were renewed! The back pain was gone! I felt amazing! For the first time in my life, I felt like I had found the “magic pill” to being the person I always wanted to be. I was singing in the shower and was able to hit the high notes! My mood was 100% improved. That’s why I encourage others to try this workout. It is why I’m such an advocate.

My personal strategy: Keep fitness as a VERY important and necessary part of my life. To keep outperforming myself and pushing myself daily and remaining focused on my goals. People are now telling me I could be a fitness model. Just imagine if I were able to keep this up for a few years. I think fitness can be a part of even the busiest lifestyle because all it takes is a few minutes a day to transform your body and your life. I am not an actor for an infomercial. I’m a real person who has experienced it, so I will remain steadfast in my fitness goals for myself and always look towards self-improvement.

6 Comments

  1. March 5, 2013 at 1:50 AM

    I absolutely love your website.. Great colors & theme. Did you make this amazing site yourself?

    Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own personal website and would love to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Cheers!

  2. June 28, 2013 at 1:19 PM

    It is really a great and useful piece of information.
    I am glad that you shared this helpful information with
    us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  3. ging said,

    July 14, 2013 at 12:07 AM

    hey there and thanks for your info ? I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did on the other hand expertise several technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the site many occasions prior to I could get it to load properly. I had been considering in case your web hosting is OK? No longer that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes impact your placement in google and can injury your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am including this RSS to my email and can glance out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you replace this again very soon..

  4. January 1, 2014 at 12:25 AM

    Thanks alot for such nice sharing.
    I would like to add a litlle bit more for the sake of spreading info of weigh loss products.
    I experienced a Beachbody Product named “T25 Challenge Pack“.
    Get an hour’s results in 25 minutes a day! Trainer Shaun T gives you everything you need, nothing you don’t. 25 minutes. 5 days a week. 100% results.

    I would like suggest you all to try it once you’ll obviously love it.

    Wish You Happy New Year 2014.
    :)

  5. Sofia said,

    April 14, 2014 at 6:49 PM

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the best websites on the net.
    I most certainly will recommend this site!

  6. August 4, 2014 at 3:10 PM

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire
    in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I
    achievement you access consistently rapidly.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

